Safe Foods

Plain meat, fish, beans, legumes, eggs, and nuts are allowed in the gluten-free diet. Other safe foods include plain veg etables, fruits, and plain peanut butter. Although dairy products and cheeses are allowed, patients should be aware that the coat of certain cheeses may contain gluten. Also acquired live lactase levels are common in active celiac disease leading to lactose intolerance.

Rice can be ingested in all its varieties including white rice, brown rice, rice bran, rice polish, sweet rice, and wild rice. Rice is the basis of many safe cereals and pastas. Different rice flours are often used in gluten-free baking and are usually combined with other gluten-free flours or baking ingredients. Also, acquired live lactase levels are common in active celiac disease leading to lactose intolerance.

Ingestion of corn in all of its varieties is safe, including corn flour, cornstarch, and corn meal. Corn is the basis of many cereals, pastas, and some tortillas. Hominy, masa, and grits are also forms of corn. Sorghum, a grain closely related to corn, can be used as a cereal. This grain is also available milled into flour for use in baked goods (Ellis et al, 1994). Millet, which is also closely related to corn, is used for cereals and other foods and the flour is used in baked goods.

Potato, in any form can be part of the celiac diet.

Buckwheat seed is used in breakfast cereals and milled into grits (de Francisschi et al, 1994). When roasted, the buckwheat seed is called kasha. Pure buckwheat flour has a very strong taste; therefore, it is only used in small quantities. Although buckwheat itself is gluten-free, the buckwheat/wheat flour mixtures do contain gluten. Quinoa can be used in the diet of celiac patients as a cereal, pasta, or flour.

Amaranth is a gluten-free grain-like plant used in cereals, pastas, baked goods, and other foods. Teffis milled into flour and used for different baked goods.

Soybean is used to make soy flour. It is a strong tasting, high protein flour best used in combination with other flours.

Several other gluten-free ingredients are used in baking, such as tapioca, tapioca flour, tapioca starch, potato flour, potato starch, and arrowroot.

Flours (and some pastas) made from beans are used in the American kitchen. Currently on the market are garbanzo bean flour (chickpea flour) alone or mixed with fava bean flour (garfava flour),or Romano bean flour. Lentil pastas and flours are available and a few nut flours are being used for baking. Unless these flours are mixed with gluten-containing flour, they are gluten-free.

Why Gluten Free

Why Gluten Free

What Is The Gluten Free Diet And What You Need To Know Before You Try It. You may have heard the term gluten free, and you may even have a general idea as to what it means to eat a gluten free diet. Most people believe this type of diet is a curse for those who simply cannot tolerate the protein known as gluten, as they will never be able to eat any food that contains wheat, rye, barley, malts, or triticale.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment