Chapter Thirteen Male Reproductive System 295


The male reproductive system consists of the two testes, the epididymis, the ductus deferens enclosed in the spermatic cord, the seminal vesicles, the prostate gland, the bulbourethral glands, and the penis. The testes are the glands that produce testosterone and sperm cells. Sperm cells travel from the testes to the epididymis where they are stored and mature. From the epididymis sperm cells move into the ductus deferens, which enters the body and travels to the posterior bladder.

From here the ductus deferens turns into the ejaculatory duct, which receives fluid from the semimal vesicles. The ejaculatory duct leads to the urethra where secretions from the prostate and bulbourethral glands are added. Finally the sperm cells and seminal fluid (together these make semen) are ejaculated from the penis.

Label the parts of the male reproductive system and color the various structures in the illustration.

Label The Reproductive System

Answer Key: a. Ductus deferens, b. Seminal vesicle, c. Prostate, d. Bulbourethral gland, e. Epididymis, f. Testis, g. Uncircumcised penis, h. Circumcised penis, i. Urethra

Chapter Thirteen Male Reproductive System

Was this article helpful?

0 0
Essentials of Human Physiology

Essentials of Human Physiology

This ebook provides an introductory explanation of the workings of the human body, with an effort to draw connections between the body systems and explain their interdependencies. A framework for the book is homeostasis and how the body maintains balance within each system. This is intended as a first introduction to physiology for a college-level course.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment